Sweet potato dog treats!

I tried out the other recipe for dog treats! They came out pretty well this time over last. The original recipe calls for egg. My dog is allergic to egg. Every time he eats egg he ends up throwing up for a few hours. I read where you can substitute egg for apple sauce, bananas, yogurt, and a few others! I used apple sauce. I thought that it would go nicely with the sweet potato. My dog loves both sweet potato and apples! The treats are a nice texture I think, a long with the cheese ones I tried the other day. The apple sauce made them a little soft however I think they work for dogs because they are only a little soft on the inside. Nobody wants to eat a hard and brittle treat! The last picture is  of the finished treat.

1 cup of canned sweet potato

1 3/4 cup of wheat flour

1 beaten egg ( or 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce)

Roll dough out and use a cookie cutter for 1/4 inch thick treats. Bake at 350 for 20 – 25 minutes (mine took a little longer).

cutiesandpoochies-dogtreat-1 cutiesandpoochies-dogtreat-2

cutiesandpoochies-dogtreat-3

Recipe from : http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/homemade-dog-treats/

Egg Substitute Options : http://www.dogtreatkitchen.com/dog-treat-recipe-without-eggs.html

Leave a Reply

